Sun, Sandwiches & Street Art

A couple of weeks ago I went to the coastal city of Valparaiso with a couple of friends. It’s only 1 ½ hours from Santiago so I was quite ashamed of myself that I hadn’t gone earlier, especially because I absolutely loved it!!

It is so different to Santiago and really bohemian, that’s the best way of describing it. It’s quite a higgledy-piggledy city built on a number of hills which also sprout a vast array of different coloured houses. Pink, orange, purple, blue, green, yellow, all manner of different coloured and styled houses. There’s also cool, amazing street art on every corner. Lampposts that have tiled mosaic bases; steps with painted sceneries of the sea; decorated doorways; tribal art on the walls. Everything about it is just so original. I’ve never been anywhere like it before!

As suggested in the title, the sun was out that weekend so naturally everything felt about 10x better. I also met up with friends from La Serena and we spent our time wandering around the ‘cerros’ (hills), admiring the art, eating ice creams and we also found ourselves a favourite sandwich place called La Coco which did yummy yummy sandwiches.

Valparaiso is also famous for its pickpockets, but luckily I ended my weekend with all of my things still! 😀 I am returning next week though and hoping not to run into any bad luck.

Check out the photos as that’s the second-best way of getting an idea of what it’s like (the first being to visit it in person of course) 🙂

One thought on “Sun, Sandwiches & Street Art

Leave a Reply

